Church Dartball League Annual Banquet Report

The Beloit Church Dartball League consisting of 17 teams from 12 churches held its 34th annual banquet at the First Baptist Church on Tuesday, April 13, 1999. The meeting was opened with the invocation given by Rev. Gene Van Galder, pastor of the First Baptist Church. Following a swiss steak dinner, the annual meeting of the league was held and award presentations made.

The following guests, pastors of participating churches, were recognized; Rev. Leonard Wilson of the First Baptist Church, and Rev. Ed Flores of New Hope United Methodist Church.

A moment of silence was observed in memory of deceased members Gil Rounds (Atonement Rejects), Lloyd Fry (New Hope Chicks), Paul Hatleberg (Calvary Lutheran), Fred Massen (Our Saviors) and Ken Lanning (Sun Valley). David Rounds was presented a plaque in appreciation of his father, Gilbert Rounds' "extraordinary dedication and service to the Church Dartball League of Beloit for more than a quarter century."

During the league business meeting, the following individuals were elected league officers for the coming year;

President, Carl Schliem of Messiah Chiefs
Vice President, Dave Marrquette of Messiah Chiefs
Secretary, Tim Whitney of Sun Valley
Treasurer, Ron Mixon, Jr. of First Baptist
Historian, Gary Pankonien of Atonement Rebels
Public Relations, Dave Rounds of Atonement Rejects

The following awards were then presented:

1st Place, National League, New Hope Chicks
2nd Place, National League, Atonement Rebels
1st Place, American League, Our Saviors Vikings
2nd Place, American League, St. John Jets
1st Place, Midwest League, Messiah Chiefs
2nd Place, Midwest League, Calvary Lutheran
Sportsmanship Award, Trinity Packers

The Atonement Rebels received the Norm Seigel Memorial Championship Trophy for defeating the New Hope Chicks in the best of 7 league championship series. Members of the Atonement Rebels receiving individual championship trophies include team co-captain Duane Ottow, co-captain Bill Knapp, Bernie Moller, Gary Pankonien, Richard Wallace, Ronald Mueller and Harold Berner.

The following individual trophies were presented for outstanding performance during this season. These include:

Most Singles, 169, Ken Thompson of Messiah Chiefs
Most Doubles, 93, Jerry Murray of 1st Baptist
Most Triples, 97, Dan Alexander of Sun Valley
Most Home Runs, 11, Armann Rohde of Trinity Mighty Darts
Runs Batted In, 114, Carl Schliem of Messiah Chiefs
High Average, .444, Brian Engleson of Messiah Chiefs

Following the awards presentation and business meeting, the meeting was closed with the benediction given by the Rev. Gene Van Galder, pastor of the First Baptist Church.

Any church interested in fielding a new team in the league for the 1999-2000 season should contact David Rounds at 365-3188 or by e-mail at prior to the league organizational meeting to be held August 17, 1999 at Messiah Lutheran Church. The dartball season runs from the last week in September to mid - March with a two-week break at Christmas and a banquet held in late March or early April.