Beloit Church Dartball League

2007/2008 Annual Banquet Report

The Beloit Church Dartball League consisting of 16 teams from 11 churches held its 43rd annual banquet at the Trinity Lutheran Church on Tuesday, April 22, 2008.  The meeting was opened with the invocation given by Rev. Ed May, pastor of Trinity Lutheran Church.  A moment of silence was observed in rememberance former league players, Jack Pohl and Howard Cox, that had passed away in the past year.  Following a ham and scalloped potatoes dinner, the annual meeting of the league was held and award presentations made.

The following individual trophies and medals were presented for outstanding performance during this season.  These include:

Singles Ed Foerster of St. John Jets (198),
Bill Eddy of Messiah Chiefs (155)
Ken Thompson of Messiah Chiefs (137)
Doubles Roger Nelson of New Hope Hawks (19)
David Rounds of Atonement Rejects (19)
Paul Davis-Gaustad of 1st Methodist (14)
Jay Quinn of Faith Lutheran (14)
Taylor Hayden of First baptist Bombers (12)
Triples John Leusink of New Hope Hawks (117)
Rhett Foerster of St. John Jets (108)
Everett Oestreich of Trinity Packers (92)
Home Runs Don Banker of Faith Lutheran (7)
Bob Egleston of First Baptist Bombers (7)
John Obermark of 1st Congregational (6)
Bill Peterson of Trinity Packers (5)
Runs Batted In Carl Schliem of Messiah Chiefs (97)
Dennis Voegeli of Messiah Chiefs (95),
Rhett Foerster of St. John Jets (90)
High Average Roger Church of Atonement Rebels (0.475)
Ed Foerster of St. John Jets (0.472)
Corey Matulle of Our Saviors Vikings (0.439)
Most Improved Players Ed Foerster of St. John Jets (+0.098),
Steve Ashley of Sun Valley Too (+0.076),
Everett Oestreich of Trinity Packers (+0.069)

The following team awards were then presented:
1st Place, League Standings, Messiah Chiefs
1st Place, League Championship Tournament, Messiah Chiefs
2nd Place, League Championship Tournament, Our Saviors Vikings
3rd Place, League Championship Tournament, Trinity Mighty Darts
4th Place, League Championship Tournament, St. John Jets
 Sportsmanship Award, Faith Lutheran

The Messiah Chiefs received the Bill Knapp Memorial Championship Trophy for defeating the Our Saviors Vikings in the best of 7 league championship series.  Members of the Messiah Chiefs receiving individual championship trophies include team captain Carl Schliem, Ken Thompson, Jon Pingel, Bill Eddy, Lenny Scharlau and Dennis Voegeli. 

The meeting was closed with a prayer given by Rev. Dennis Pingel, pastor of Messiah Lutheran Church.